LeMons Bait: 1990 Geo Prizm

If you’re familiar with this blog, you probably recall my love of my first car, and have read of my exploits as a real-life race car driver.  So it would be only natural that those two would eventually collide in a NASCAR-worthy explosion of racing fuel and poor decision-making.  In my dreams at least.  So when I see things like this…

ad

… I get a little twitchy.

I’m sure that a $650 Geo Prizm with obvious rust and nearly a quarter-million miles is not a wise choice for a car purchase.  But that could be said for most LeMons cars, I would suspect.  Who honestly looks at a Toyota Corolla parked next to an MR2 and says, “hey we should weld these together and make a race car.”  What kind of lunatic sees a Volkswagen Vanagon and thinks, “that would be a good recipient for a VR6, oh, and let’s race it.”

LeMons racers and their various hangers-on, roustabouts and teammates, that’s who.  A fun group of people, in my mind.

12149139

This particular Prizm will likely be a daily beater for someone until the tinworm finally consumes a part needed for forward motion, or the engine finally decides to quit running reliably.  My dream of a robins-egg blue egg-shaped race car will remain that – until I clear some room in the garage at least…

robineggracing

Artist’s conception of the proposed Robin’s Egg Racing Geo Prizm. Reports indicate a large nest sprouting from the undercarriage and team members dressed in extraordinarily creepy bird costumes. Stay tuned to Hatchtopia.com for updates.

Tags: ,

4 responses to “LeMons Bait: 1990 Geo Prizm”

  1. Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuudeeee says :

    Man, I’m loving your blog. I seen this and was freaking out, because I happen to be on KSL like, every day, looking for weird old cars. Right now, I’ve got a 79 corolla sr5 sport. So yeah, totes got a soft spot for hatchies. Its rusted to hell, brown, and got offset tires, rally bumpers, and a roof rack. Needless to say, I’m preparing for the apocalypse.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Hatch-sclusive! 1990 Geo Prizm For Sale | Hatchtopia - August 19, 2013

Leave a Reply

